Becoming a licensed barber in Florida is an excellent option for professionals seeking to take care of men’s hair. State regulatory laws have strict requirements for the licensing of cosmetologists, which include hair stylists, estheticians, and nail specialists.
In this article, you will understand the basics of Florida barber license defense.
Barber Licensing Process in Florida – What Are the Requirements to Apply for a Barber’s License?
The Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR) is responsible for regulating the practice of cosmetology within state jurisdiction.
As provided by Florida Statutes §477.013 (4), the term “cosmetology” encompasses “the mechanical or chemical treatment of the head, face, and scalp for aesthetic rather than medical purposes, including, but not limited to:
- Hair shampooing
- Hair cutting
- Hair arranging
- Hair coloring
- Permanent waving, and
- Hair relaxing for compensation”
Qualifying for a barber’s license is not an easy task. DPBR’s rules require prospective licensees to go through at least 600 hours with special approval for a test or a total of 900 hours of education at an accredited school.
The applicant’s curriculum must include Florida barber laws and rules, hair structure and chemistry, hair cutting, hair styling, shampooing, chemical procedures, safety, sanitation, and sterilization.
After completing the course, the applicants must pass a written barbering exam. The applicable fees include a $31.50 fee to take the test and a $150 licensure fee. With the license in hand, Florida barbers must pay attention to the conditions for licensure maintenance.
Barber Licensing Process in Florida – Maintenance & Renewals
The license renewal period for a Florida barber is two years from the date of the first licensure. It is fundamental for licensed barbers to schedule the renewal date in a calendar to avoid missing the deadline.
Florida regulations require barbers to renew their licenses in even-numbered years, always filing with the DBPR no later than July 31. The renewal fee is $105, which will be processed by the DPBR with the application.
When applying for a renewal, licensees must take at least 16 hours of continuing education, including courses on HIV/AIDS, clinical management, safety, and sanitation regulations.
Florida Barber License Defense – Why You Should Work with an Expert Licensing Attorney
The best method to protect your rights as a licensed barber in Florida is ensuring full legal compliance with the relevant statutes and regulations. Under Florida Statutes §477.028, a licensed barber can be subject to disciplinary action for:
- Obtaining a license through fraud or misrepresentation
- Soliciting services using deceptive advertisement
- Knowingly filing false reports/records
- Criminal conviction
- Providing services under an invalid license
- Performing services in an unprofessional manner or incurring negligence
- Alcohol and substance alcohol
Any actions that could potentially harm customers are subject to disciplinary action. If you receive a complaint as a licensed barber, it is vital to consult with an expert Florida attorney to identify the best defense strategy.
Waste no Time with Uncertainty – Immediately Seek Expert Legal Guidance
A well-versed legal advisor in Florida licensing law, Attorney Romy B. Jurado willingly wants to help you protect your barber’s license. Contact us by calling (305) 921-0976 or emailing [email protected] to schedule a consultation.