If you want to enjoy a relaxing day with a variety of personal care treatments, there is no better place to be than a day spa in Florida. No spa can operate without meeting stringent hygiene and safety requirements, which require proper licensing with the state government.
In this article, you will find an overview of the licenses required to open a spa in Florida.
What is a Spa? – Understanding the Concept
A spa is a business that allows customers to enjoy a variety of beauty and health services under the same roof. The purpose is to improve the customers’ health, beauty, and relaxation with personal care treatments, such as:
- Mud bath
- Seaweed body wraps
- Clay or herbal body masks
- Hair and nail services
Florida law requires spa businesses to file for appropriate licensing with the Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR). There is not an exclusive license for spas in Florida, as spa owners must apply for different licenses depending on the services offered in the establishment.
What License Do You Need to Open a Spa in Florida? – In Detail
Application for Salon Licensure
The Board of Cosmetology is the branch of the DBPR responsible for regulating and licensing all categories related to cosmetic treatments. To obtain salon licensure, the applicant must file Form DBPR COSMO 6 (Application for Salon Licensure).
Once the application is filled out, the applicant must submit it with the required documents and fees to the DBPR’s office (2601 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee, FL 32399-0783). The total fee amount is $95, which is a $40 salon license fee plus a non-refundable $50 application fee.
Application for Licensed Massage Establishment
In Florida, only licensed massage establishments can operate within state jurisdiction. Whether you are opening a massage clinic or are the new owner of an existing establishment, you must apply for a license with the DPBR.
This license can be issued to a sole proprietor or a legal entity, such as a limited liability company or a corporation. Massage licenses for legal entities allow businesses to offer massage treatments in a specific location (each location must have a separate license)
Applicants can submit the application package with the required fee online or by mail. The fees involved in the process include the application fee ($50), an initial licensing fee ($100), and an inspection fee ($100).
Any application submitted without the applicable fees cannot be processed by the Florida Board of Massage Therapy.
Other licenses that may apply for a new day spa in Florida include licenses for hair braiding, hair wrapping, and body wrapping, and licenses for cosmetologists, nail, and facial specialists.
Please note that the owner of a spa is not necessarily responsible for performing personal care treatments on customers. Only licensed professionals can perform in different cosmetology branches, strictly within the boundaries determined by the DBPR.
Additionally, it is fundamental to understand the difference between a spa and a medical spa. If you want to open a medical spa, a licensed doctor must be responsible for prescribing and overseeing personal care treatments for customers.
Do You Want to Open a Spa in Florida? – Immediately Contact Jurado & Associates, P.A.
A well-versed licensing attorney from Jurado & Associates, P.A. is willing to help you. Contact us by calling (305) 921-0976 or emailing Romy@juradolawfirm.com to schedule a consultation.