Under Florida law, any company or entity seeking to sell, distribute, manufacture, or serve liquor must file for a permit with the state. Liquor licenses are issued uniquely, as each business has different needs and purposes.
In this article, you will find an overview of the different types of liquor licenses in Florida.
Understanding the Different Types of Liquor Licenses in Florida – In Detail
Every state in the United States has restrictive rules to regulate alcohol sales. In the Sunshine State, the Florida Division of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR) is charged with regulating and licensing activities involving alcoholic beverages.
This department’s scope of control encompasses the distribution, manufacture, brewing, and merchandising of beer, wine, spirituous liquor, and any other type of liquor. The DBPR divides the existing licenses into different classes, each of which grants distinct privileges to licensees.
Permits to Sell Alcohol in Florida
Selling liquor is a regulated activity within state jurisdiction. The DBPR has four classes of licenses for beer and wine sales and 10 different types of licenses for hard liquor sales. Each license has distinct requirements and grants specific privileges.
For example, the cheapest licensing option to sell alcohol in Florida is the 1APS permit, which varies from $28 to $140 (depending on the applicant’s county). This license allows a business to sell beer in sealed containers for consumption exclusively off premises.
With a 1APS license, you cannot sell products with over 6.243% of alcohol by volume or 5% by weight.
Alcohol Manufacturer Licenses in Florida
If you want to produce alcohol for sale in Florida, you need to apply for an alcohol manufacturer license. The DBPR has five different classes for manufacturer licenses, which are:
- AMW (Wine Makers)
- BMWC (Wine markers & Cordials)
- CMB (Malt Beverages)
- DD (Liquor Distillers)
- ERB (Blended Liquors)
The cost of each license ranges between $1,000 and $4,000. The harder the type of alcohol, the more expensive the manufacturer’s license is.
Alcohol Distributor Licenses in Florida
Distributing any type of alcoholic beverages is a regulated activity that requires proper licensing with the state of Florida. The DBPR has five classes of licenses for distributors, which are:
- EDB (Low Alcohol Distributor – Dry Counties)
- KLD (Distributor of Wine, Spirits, and Malt Beverages)
- JDBW (Distributor to Distributor)
- IMPR (Alcohol Importers)
- MEXP (Alcohol Exporters)
The cost of alcohol distributor licenses in Florida ranges between $500 and $4,000.
Special Alcohol Licenses in Florida
The special category is the broadest category of alcohol licenses in the DBPR. Over 20 types of licenses are encompassed in this category, from licenses for alcohol consumption on premises of Theme Parks to a special sales license applied only in cases of execution/levy, bankruptcy, suspension, and other similar situations.
The costs of obtaining a special alcohol license depend on the applicant’s purpose. Temporary licenses (usually valid for three days only) cost around $25, while a 3M “Theme Parks” license costs around $1,500 to $3,500.
As it is plain to see, the process to obtain a liquor license in Florida is highly complex and involves several details. If you want to navigate this process seamlessly, rely on the guidance of a seasoned legal advisor.
Do You Want to Get a Liquor License in Florida? – Immediately Contact Jurado & Associates, P.A.
A well-versed licensed attorney from Jurado & Associates, P.A. is willing to help you obtain a liquor license in Florida. Contact us by calling (305) 921-0976 or emailing Romy@juradolawfirm.com for expert legal guidance.