Providing security services requires proper licensing under Florida law. Depending on the type of services provided by an individual or legal entity, there is a variety of requirements prospective licensees must meet before receiving approval to work.
In this article, you will discover how to get a security license in Florida.
Florida Security Licenses – Full Overview
The state agency responsible for regulating and licensing the private security industry is the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (FDACS). In essence, there are two categories of private security licenses – licensing for individuals and licensing for legal entities.
The license applied to individuals seeking to provide private security services in Florida is the “Class D” Security Officer license. This specific permit allows the licensee to provide non-armed security services across the state.
In such cases, the licensee can own or become an employee of a certified and licensed security agency. One of the restrictions of “Class D” licenses is that licensees may not personally sign any subcontractor agreements with licensed agencies or other legal entities.
“Class D” licensees seeking to carry a firearm while on duty must file for a “Class G” Firearm license.
Conversely, the license applied to legal entities engaged in the segment of security services is the “Class B” Security Agency license. Licensed private agencies are free to sign subcontractor agreements with other licensed agencies.
How Do You Get a Security License in Florida? – Full Walkthrough
Obtaining a “Class D” Security Officer license involves several steps. First, the applicant must go through at least 40 hours of professional training at a licensed security school or training facility. Please note that the school or training facility must be approved by the FDACS.
After completing the required hours of training, the applicant receives a security certificate from the licensed entity. Without a security certificate, it is not possible to apply for a Security Officer license.
According to the FDCAS’ Security Officer Handbook, an applicant seeking a private security license must:
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Have no criminal record
- Be a person of good moral character
- Have a sound mind (no mental illness background), and
- Have no history of use of illegal drugs or abuse of alcohol
The supporting documentation may vary slightly from one application to another, but the key documents are the applicant’s Social Security Number (SSN), fingerprints, and a personal injury waiver. Those applying as non-US citizens must submit proof of work authorization.
The validity of a “Class D” Security Officer license lasts for two years. It is fundamental for licensees to pay attention to the renewal deadline, as it is their responsibility to apply for a renewal within 60 to 90 days before the license’s expiration date.
Do You Want to Obtain a Private Security License in Florida? – Immediately Seek Legal Guidance
Obtaining a Security Officer license is not an easy task for those attempting to handle everything on their own. Contact Attorney Romy B. Jurado today by calling (305) 921-0976 or emailing [email protected] to find the best licensing strategy for your case.